Outside of Comfort

Standard

This morning I worked earlier than I normally work, at 6:30 a.m. and to top it off I was at a different store. I was in an unfamiliar place.

This store I worked at this morning is twice as busy as my home store and not running a certain deployment that I am used to. The shift felt painstakingly long due to the fact that I could only stand there because I didn’t know how they like to clean things or when they clean things. All I knew is that I had to put my customers first, and that’s what I did.

I came up with this joke a few months ago; What came first, the chicken or the egg? And no matter the answer I say “wrong! The customer, the customer always comes first!”

In the midst of putting the customer first I am always thinking, how, in these 30 seconds, can I make sure this person has a great day? And I do what ever it takes to make sure they leave an interaction with me feeling better than when they first got there.

How many people will you come across throughout your days? How many small windows of opportunity to make someone have a great day will show up through out your day? Having a great day is a battle in the mind, a choice you make the moment you fall asleep the night before or the morning of. You get to choose to have a great day and because of your choice, people around you will reap the effects of it. Some people choose to have bad days by spending all their energy on things that are going wrong. How can we turn people’s day around in 30 seconds or less?

Leave a Reply

