Think Generational

Standard

One of the most influential men in my life is named Matt Gonzales and something he always told us was “Your yes will echo in eternity.” This statement summed up the idea that everything you do will have its effect on the generations to come after you, so don’t live for yourself but live for the generations that are to come. Leave them something great. What you do today echos in eternity. The seeds you plant today, good or bad, will eventually grow. 

I remember the first time i went to a church as a teenager my cousins invited me out to watch a play they were in. I remember none of it but one scene. The scene took place around a table with men in robes lined with gold and wore fancy hats. I remember none of the words from the play but one phrase from one of the songs and the phrase was, “I want to leave a legacy.” The only thing running through my mind was the desire to live a life of value, to leave a legacy, to do something great. That night I left inspired to live a great life. I don’t think I was the only person who was moved by that song but i praise God for the writer of that song because his creativity will leave it’s effect on generations after generations. 

I am thankful for people who believed in me these last six years. It wasn’t up until six years ago did i start believing my life had any worth and now I believe that by the end of my life I will be leaving behind something great for my children’s children. I am learning that the thoughts i think, the things i do, the way i act, and my mannerisms will affect my generational line. This really makes me stop to think about my life and what I want my life to be known by. How my grandchildren hear about my life and what major things they’ll know about me.

I want to encourage you to take time to make a list of the things you want to leave behind for the generations to come after you. How will your life benefit theirs?  

Leave a Reply

